/Keto Diet Theory Put to the Test

Keto Diet Theory Put to the Test

Do low carb and ketogenic diets have a metabolic advantage for weight loss?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

This is the 2nd in a 7-video series on keto diets. In case you missed the first one, check out Is Keto an Effective Cancer-Fighting Diet? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-Keto-an-Effective-Cancer-Fighting-Diet).

Stay tuned for:
• Keto Diet Results for Weight Loss (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Keto-diet-Results-for-Weight-Loss)
• Is Weight Loss on Ketosis Sustainable? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-Weight-Loss-on-Ketosis-Sustainable)
• Are Keto Diets Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-keto-diets-safe)
• Keto Diets: Muscle Growth and Bone Density (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Keto-Diets-Muscle-Growth-and-Bone-Density)
• Does a Ketogenic Diet Help Diabetes or Make It Worse? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-a-ketogenic-diet-help-diabetes-or-make-it-worse)

The more things change, the more they stay the same. I did a whole website about the Atkin’s Diet and sadly people keep falling into the low carb trap.

Some of my older videos on low-carb diets include:
• Atkins Diet: Trouble Keeping It Up (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/atkins-diet-trouble-keeping-it-up/)
• Paleolithic Lessons (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/paleolithic-lessons/)
• Whole Grains May Work as Well as Drugs (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/whole-grains-may-work-as-well-as-drugs/)
• Low Carb Diets and Coronary Blood Flow (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/low-carb-diets-and-coronary-blood-flow/)
• Alzheimer’s Disease: Grain Brain or Meathead? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/alzheimers-disease-grain-brain-or-meathead/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/keto-diet-theory-put-to-the-test and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/keto-diet-theory-put-to-the-test. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”
To view the subtitles in transcript format, click on the ellipsis button below the video, choose “Open transcript”, and select the language you’d like to view them in.

Image credit: Ted Eytan / flickr

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/